Installing mysql server.

I am trying to clone Open Monitor – Aggregator. The Open Source Project from Umit Project.

Its been about 1.5 years since I started contributing to Umit Project.
But soon after I cloned the aggregator from git, I realized I am I don’t have mysql setup. when I used the command to enter into mysql shell:

mysql -u root -p

After entering all the passwords I could remember to have ever used, all I could get in return was :

ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

I was really pissed then I realized ,I have never really installed mysql server since I upgraded my system to Ubuntu 12.04

so I went to su mode, typed:

 apt-get install mysql-server

Bingo ! it worked in the first ,I could get my mysql running in no time.

Then I created a database named “openmonitor” using :

 create database openmonitor;
Leave a Reply

